Dog licenses are due January 1st of each year.
Licenses can be purchased in person at the Town Clerk's Office, by mail, or online (by clicking here). The following documents are necessary to register your dog:
- Current rabies certificate
- Spay/neutered certificate (The first time you register after the procedure)
- Fee $15.00 spayed/neutered; $20.00 intact
- Self-addressed stamped envelope (mail only)
The licensing period is from January 1st - December 31st of each year.
- The deadline for renewing a dog license is January 31st.
- There is a grace period where you can pay without penalty until May 31st.
- Failure to license by May 31st results in a $50.00 late fee (per dog) in addition to the license fee;
- Failure to license by June 30th results in a $50.00 non-criminal disposition (per dog) in addition to a $50.00 late fee and the license fee.
- If your dog passes away, if you move out of Sharon, or if a dog that you owned changes ownership, please notify the Town Clerk's Office at 781-784-1500 x1201. They will update their records to ensure you do not get contacted about license renewals for this animal and to avoid citations being issued for non-renewal of a license for this animal.
- All dogs 6 months or older must be licensed.
- In order to obtain a license, a copy of a valid/current rabies vaccine must be provided or on file according to Mass General Law Chapter 140 Section 137 and Town of Sharon By-Law Chapter 116-5.
- In order to obtain a license at the Spayed or Neutered rate a certificate of proof must be provided the first time you register after the procedure.
- The license MUST be worn on the dog.
- A newly acquired dog that is 6 months or older must be licensed within 30 days. If under 6 months old, the owner has until the animal reaches 6 months in age to license
- Foster dogs must be licensed by the foster care giver if the foster parent has the dog for 30 days or more
- All Massachusetts residents who move to or temporarily reside in another Massachusetts city or town are required to transfer or obtain a license in the new city or town if residence in that location will be longer than 30 days.
- A current license is required before a dog can be released from impoundment.
- If the dog is not licensed the owner of the impounded animal will pay failure to license penalties, in addition to kennel charges and handling and pick up fees.
- All fees must be paid before animal can be released from impoundment.