ANNUAL TOWN ELECTION MAY 16, 2023

Pursuant to the provisions of the Warrant of April 11, 2023, the inhabitants of the Town of Sharon qualified to vote in elections, met in the Sharon High School Gymnasium at 7:00 A.M. Tuesday, May 16, 2023. The meeting was called to order by Town Clerk Mark F. Hogan. The Election Clerk was Rachelle Kahalas. The Precinct Wardens for Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 were named respectively as follows: Arlene L. Flatto, Susan D. Saunders, Susan D. Keating, Ellen B. Michelson, and Susan C. Slater. Inspectors were: Sandra C. Aronson, Marie E. Cuneo, Carol J. Dickerman, Judith K. Doo, India-Mae Fraser, Kirstin M. Gray, Rowan Gray, ToniJo Guardabascio, Nihar Srinivas Iyengar, Margaret Johnson, Kendra U. Kodira, Ivy Melissa Krull, Beth L. Lappen, Tanya N. Lewis, Zachary Daniel Loomis, Deborah A. Lorenzen, Jackson Robert Mandel, Patricia L. McDougal, Ernest Rotman, Shirley H. Schofield, Jeffrey H. Shapiro, Evgenia Vasilets, and Mildred V. Worthley. Ballot Clerks were Marion E. Baker, Trisha Brahmachari, Sally Isabel Brouhard, Jane E. Kinney, Charles I. Levine, Jean R. Platzman and, Susan Danielle Reed. Staff at the Town Clerk's Office were Assistant Town Clerk Beth A. Kourafas and Registrars Brian W. Johnson, Colleen M. Tuck, and Deborah Katz Yaffe.

The tabulators registered zero. The ballot boxes were confirmed as empty by Officer of the Day Patrol John Marsinelli and their respective Precinct Wardens. They were locked and the keys were delivered to the Officer of the Day. At 3:00 P.M. the keys were transferred to the new Officer of the Day Lieutenant Jeffrey D. Penders. All Election Officers and workers were sworn.

At 8:00 P.M. the polls were declared closed.

Tellers were Sandra C. Aronson, Kirstin M. Gray, ToniJo Guardabascio, Margaret Johnson, Ivy Melissa Krull, Tanya N. Lewis, Deborah A. Lorenzen, Jackson Robert Mandel, Ernest Rotman, and Jeffrey H. Shapiro.

Total ballots tabulated at the polls were as follows:

PRECINCT	1	2	3	4	5	TOTAL
	102	61	96	90	56	405

The ballots were canvassed according to the law by a DS200 Precinct Scanner. Results were transcribed on summary sheets and declaration was made by Town Clerk Mark F. Hogan at 8:27 P.M.

Additional Support

This election was a success only because of all the great people who worked to ensure that it would run smoothly. In addition to those named above the following people also deserve acknowledgement for their service: Joe Vitale of ES&S, Chief Stephen Coffey, Deputy Chief Donald Brewer, Lieutenant Scott Leonard, Lieutenant Jeffrey D. Penders, Sergeant Matthew Rovaldi, Patrol Anthony Cadogan, Patrol John Marsinelli, Special Police Neil J. McGrath, and Special Police Donald W. Reed of the Sharon Police Department; Patrol Howard Solow of the Randolph Police Department; Superintendent Peter Botelho, Interim Principal Emily Burke, Rebecca Gray, Anthony Kopacz, and Joe Haven of the Sharon Public Schools; and Operations/Forestry and Grounds Administrative Assistant KevinWeber, Eric Bonito, William Cuneo, Kevin Sullivan and Michael Sullivan of the Department of Public Works.

Final Results

PRECINCT	1	2	3	4	5	TOTAL
SELECT BOARD For THREE Years						
Hanna Switlekowski	91	55	87	77	51	361
Write-In	5	1	5	6	1	18
Blank	6	5	4	7	4	26
Total	102	61	96	90	56	405

ASSESSOR For THREE Years						TOTAL
Anne M. Carney	88	56	74	74	49	341
Write-In	2	1	1	0	0	4
Blank	12	4	21	16	7	60
Total	102	61	96	90	56	405

MODERATOR For THREE Years						
Andrew Nebenzahl	83	54	80	69	47	333
Write-In	5	3	2	1	0	11
Blank	14	4	14	20	9	61
Total	102	61	96	90	56	405

TOWN CLERK For THREE Years						
Mark F. Hogan	91	59	86	78	49	363
Write-In	1	0	1	2	0	4
Blank	10	2	9	10	7	38
Total	102	61	96	90	56	405

PRECINCT	1	2	3	4	5	TOTAL
SCHOOL COMMITTEE						
For THREE Years						
Julie Defalco Rowe	80	44	73	63	44	304
Adam J. Shain	73	47	70	65	44	299
Write-In	4	2	5	7	0	18
Blank	47	29	44	45	24	189
Total	204	122	192	180	112	810

PLANNING BOARD For FIVE Years						
Xander Shapiro	90	53	80	67	42	332
Write-In	1	0	0	2	1	4
Blank	11	8	16	21	13	69
Total	102	61	96	90	56	405

TRUSTEE OF PUBLIC LIBRARY						
For THREE Years						
Carolyn L. Weeks	79	54	78	70	50	331
Sarah W. Windman	79	54	72	66	43	314
Write-In	0	0	1	3	0	4
Blank	46	14	41	41	19	161
Total	204	122	192	180	112	810

HOUSING AUTHORITY For FIVE Years						
Xander Shapiro	91	53	77	69	41	331
Write-in	0	0	1	0	0	1
Blank	11	8	18	21	15	73
Total	102	61	96	90	56	405

Registered Voters: 13346 Percent Voting: 3.03%

Absentee: 11 Early Ballots: 13 Total Votes Cast: 405