

## TOWN OF SHARON **MEETING NOTICE**

Posted in accordance M. G.L. c. 30A, §§ 18-25



# SHARON SELECT BOARD

February 9, 2021 – 7:00 pm

\*\*Important note\*\* Sharon TV will likely broadcast virtual Board and Committee meetings on Sharon TV. If you elect to enable your webcam, your image and background may be broadcast with or without sound.

> **Online** Meeting ID **Password** www.zoom.us 584-648-7446 02067

https://zoom.us/j/5846487446?pwd=ZE45aUhrNXc3ayszKzVhcnBRR1BkZzo9

### BY PHONE

1-312-626-6799 1-929-205-6099 1-253-215-8782 1-346-248-7766 1-669-900-6833 1-301-715-8592

To mute or unmute yourself, Press \*6

Note: If you plan to also use your computer to see participants and shared documents, do not use computer audio since it will create an echo with your computer speakers.

### **AGENDA**

		Recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance
1.	7:00 pm	Moment of silence in recognition of the recent passing of Sheila Miller, retired Public Health Nurse.
2.	7:00 pm	Joint meeting with Housing Authority for candidate interviews and vote to fill vacancy through Annual Town Election of May, 2021  a. Letter of interest – Todd Arnold  b. Letter of interest – Xander Shapiro  c. Housing Authority current membership list
3.	7:15 pm	Candidate interviews for Commission on Disabilities  a. Board/Committee application – Todd Arnold  b. Board/Committee application – Ruth Beckerman-Rodau  c. Commission on Disabilities current membership
4.	7:30 pm	DEI Committee recommendation on diversity, equity and inclusion training program a. Greater US training proposal
5.	7:45 pm	Support for local businesses a. Email correspondence b. In love with Sharon businesses graphic c. Request for land use planning and economic development consulting services
6.	7:55 pm	Vote to appoint candidates from Energy Advisory Committee and Economic Development Committee to Municipal Solar Oversight committee

Note: Items may not be discussed in the order listed or at the specific time estimated. Times are approximate. The meeting likely will be broadcast and videotaped for later broadcast by Sharon Community Television.

a. Candidate proposals from Energy Advisory Committee

- b. Candidate proposals from Economic Development Committee
- c. Municipal Solar Oversight committee charge and composition
- 7. 8:00 pm Presentation of Select Board sector budget
  - a. Select Board sector budget overview
- 8. 8:05 pm Fire Department budget review Fire Chief, James Wright
  - a. Budget materials
- 9. 8:15 pm Police Department budget review Police Chief, John Ford
  - a. Budget materials
- 10. 8:30 pm Vote to approve and sign bond note authorization
  - a. Vote of the Select Board
- 11. 8:35 pm Consider and vote to approve lease of the parking lot at First Baptist Church
  - a. Draft lease agreement
- 12. 8:40 pm Vote to transfer the care, custody, control, and management of Rattlesnake Hill property to the Conservation Commission
  - a. Recordable vote of Select Board to Con Commission
  - b. Draft Con Commission deed acceptance
  - c. Rattlesnake Hill landowner notice waiver
- 13. 8:40 pm Vote to approve request for special legislation to extend the employment of Police Chief John Ford for one year beyond normal retirement date, until the age of 66
  - a. Vote of the Select Board
- 14. 8:40 pm Review and approve consent calendar
  - I. Minutes
    - a. January 13, 2021 Executive session minutes
    - b. January 19, 2021 Regular session minutes
    - c. January 19, 2021 Executive session minutes
  - II. Vote to reauthorize and amend the Intermunicipal Agreement that created the Southeastern Regional Services Group (SERSG) so as to extend the term of that agreement for a period of twenty-five years from February 1, 2021, subject to any rights of termination or withdrawal, with all other terms of the original agreement remaining in place without change, and to authorize Town Administrator Frederic E. Turkington, Jr. to execute any documents necessary to effectuate the purposes of this vote.
    - a. Intermunicipal Agreement
  - III. Vote to appoint candidates to Sharon Cultural Council:
    - a. Elizabeth McLaughlin for a term expiring June 30, 2024
    - b. Pat Olken for a term expiring June 30, 2024
    - c. Mridula Satyamurti for a term expiring June 30, 2024
  - IV. Vote to approve the following banner requests:
    - a. SYBSA registration, March 8-15, 2021 in 1st position
    - b. Sharon Cub Scout Pack 95 registration, August 23-30, 2021 in 1st position

- V. Vote to award bid for delivery of the 2020 Annual Town Report to the Boy Scouts of America, Troop 95, in the amount of \$1,200
  - a. Troop 95 bid proposal
- 15. 8:45 pm Town Administrator's Report
  - a. Report
  - b. Vote to approve the following collective bargaining agreements
    - i. Firefighters Local 1880 IAFF
    - ii. Management Professional Employees Association
    - iii. AFSCME AFL-CIO Local 362 State Council 93
- 16. 9:00 pm Topics not anticipated with 48 hours of posting
- 17. 9:00 pm Enter into Executive Session for the purposes of discussing strategy with respect to contract negotiations with non-union personnel; collective bargaining with the AFSCME AFL-CIO Local 362 State Council 93; the purchase, transfer, or sale of real property and adjourn for the evening at the conclusion.

DISCUSSION OF THESE ITEMS IN OPEN SESSION MAY HAVE A DETRIMENTAL EFFECT ON THE BARGAINING POSITION OF THE TOWN