Local Emergency Planning Committee

In 1986, Congress passed the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act, Public Law 99-499, commonly known as EPCRA or SARA Title III. Section 301(a) of the legislation required each governor to appoint a State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) by April of 1987. Section 301 (b) charged the SERCs with the responsibility of dividing the states into planning committees (LEPCs). In 1987, the Massachusetts State Emergency Response Commission in compliance with the new legislation designated each MEMA sub-area as planning districts and appointed an LEPC for each city and town within them. The legislation required that the committees have a representation from a specified number of interest groups. In 1997, the MA Emergency Response Commission initiated a new program to re-energize the LEPC process and became known as the LEPC Certification Program.

On November 26, 2002, the Sharon LEPC application was approved by SERC and achieved Start-up Certification status. The LEPC is now eligible for SERC planning and training grants and participation in regional and national conferences. Attendance and input from all members of the committee ensure that effective communication and responsibilities are determined pre-event. An "event" includes acts of nature, power outage, train derailment, or bioterrorism. In addition to the regularly scheduled meetings, the LEPC has updated and revised the Sharon Town Emergency plan, established by-laws, conducted a "table top exercise," and trained employees to awareness level for bio-hazards.

In 2005, a table top exercise, Reverse 911/emergency communication system feasibility, house numbering initiative and a tour of  Salvation Army Conference Center (a possible Emergency Operating Center or EOC) were a few of the accomplishments. Through a Region 4A grant, 6,000 "A Guide to Emergency Preparedness" were purchased. A power point presentation was developed by a graduate student in nursing to assist with volunteer recruitment outreach. The LEPC continues to update the Comprehensive Emergency Management Plan (CEMP). The Provisional LEPC application was re-submitted to the Department of Homeland Security, previously known as MA Emergency Management Agency (MEMA). Approval was granted on Jan. 2, 2006. In addition to the regularly scheduled meetings, the LEPC sponsored the American Red Cross Shelter training for Sharon citizens.

Board Members

Name Title
James Wright Chair - Fire Chief
John Ford Police
Michael Polimer Civil Defense
Ken Wertz School / Hazardous Materials
Phyllis Bernstein Media
Bill Foley Salvation Army
Diane Malcolmson ACO
Tom Kenvin EMS / Hospital
Dr Victoria L Greer School
Chris Farrand Salvation Army
Tom Smith Comcast
Kathleen Medeiros COA
Melissa Shea COA