## ANNUAL TOWN ELECTION

## MAY 18, 2010

Pursuant to the provisions of the Warrant of March 23, 2010, the inhabitants of the Town of Sharon qualified to vote in elections, met in the Sharon High School Gymnasium at 6:59 A.M., Tuesday, May 18, 2010. The meeting was called to order by Town Clerk Marlene B. Chused who read the call and return of the The warden for the election was Lynne M. Callanan. warrant. The wardens for Precincts 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 were named as follows: Marcia Shapiro, Barbara Testa, Marilyn Lamb, Shirley Schofield and Susan Slater. Clerks and workers were: Lorraine Forman, Margaret Davidi, Jean Platzman, Marie Cuneo, Pat Walker, Barbara Kass, Mary Hall, Jeffrey Shapiro, Bobby Hall, Brian D'Arcy, Judy Levine, Trudy Leonard, Mildred Worthley, Carol Brown, Hy Lamb, Ruth Grandberg, Jim Testa, Chuck Levine and Beth Kourafas, Assistant Town Clerk. The ballot boxes were shown to be empty and registered zero; the ballot boxes were locked and the keys delivered to Officer of the Day, Scott Leonard. election officers and workers were sworn.

At 8:04 P.M. the polls were declared closed. Total votes were as follows: Precinct 1 - 749; Precinct 2 - 733; Precinct 3 - 771; Precinct 4 - 646; Precinct 5 - 579; Total votes cast - 3,478.

The ballots were canvassed according to law by an OPTECH III-P Eagle Precinct Ballot Tabulator. Results were transcribed by Town Clerk Marlene B. Chused at 9:10 P.M. as follows:

PRECINCT	1	2	3	4	5	TOTAL
SELECTMEN						
William A. Heitin	522	481	541	457	406	2,407
Write-In	13	31	16	12	13	85
Blanks	214	221	214	177	160	986
TOTAL	749	733	771	646	579	3,478

ASSESSOR						TOTAL
Ellen Wolfson Abelson	487	446	498	423	363	2,217
Write-In	2	7	7	1	3	20
Blanks	260	280	266	222	213	1,241
TOTAL	749	733	771	646	579	3,478

PRECINCT	1	2	3	4	5	TOTAL		
SCHOOL COMMITTEE 3 YEARS								
Linda Waitze Callan	166	251	238	176	145	976		
Alison M. Rutley	232	326	281	203	166	1,208		
Jeffrey D. Cruzan	440	378	422	377	325	1,942		
Emily E. Smith-Lee	315	265	292	281	291	1,444		
Write-In	2	2	0	0	1	5		
Blanks	343	244	309	255	230	1,381		
TOTAL	1,498	1,466	1,542	1,292	1,158	6,956		
SCHOOL COMMITTEE 1 YEAR						TOTAL		
Jonathan C. Hitter	461	433	504	409	359	2,166		
Andrea Lovett	0			1	1	14		
Write-In	7	7		1	7	29		
Blanks	281	284	257	235	212	1,269		
TOTAL	749	733	771	646	579	3,478		
PLANNING BOARD						TOTAL		
Anne Rachel Bingham	287	_	_			1,424		
Pasqualino Pannone	253		_	202	163	1,082		
Write-In	0	_			1	10		
Blanks	209				165	962		
TOTAL	749	733	771	646	579	3,478		
HOUSING AUTHORITY						TOTAL		
Charlotte R. Dana	452			400	351	2,094		
Write-In	3			_	2	17		
Blanks	294	_						
TOTAL	749	733	771	646	579	3,478		
					1	1		
TRUSTEE OF PUBLIC LIBRARY	400		100	400	0.65	TOTAL		
Alyssa Weiner Rosenbaum	482	451	486	409	365	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Roberta Waterman Saphire	434	425	465	380	337	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
Write-In	5	6	2	4	4	21		
Blanks	577	584	589	499	452	,		
TOTAL	1,498	1,466	1,542	1,292	1,158	6,956		

## QUESTION NO.1

Shall the Town of Sharon approve the new Charter recommended by the Charter Commission as summarized below?

PRECINCT	1	2	3	4	5	TOTAL
YES	289	188	248	192	206	1,123
NO	447	539	504	448	367	2,305
Blanks	13	6	19	6	6	50
Total	749	733	771	646	579	3,478

SUMMARY: If the proposed Charter is adopted:

- 1. The Select Board will continue to have three members elected for terms of three years each, so arranged that one member's term expires each year.
- 2. The School Committee will be expanded to seven members to bring it into compliance with a state law requiring elected multiple member bodies to have an odd number of members. The members' term of office will continue to be three years each, so arranged that nearly an equal number of terms as possible expire each year.
- 3. The existing position of Town Administrator will function in the same manner as at present, but the legal structure of the office and its relationship with the Select Board and other municipal agencies will be brought into conformity with state law.
- 4. The existing form of Town Meeting will be modified by creating a Legislative Committee that will initially consider all items on the Town Meeting warrant. It will consist of 17 members, 10 elected from districts (2 from each of the Town's 5 precincts) and 7 elected at large. Its meetings will be open to the public and presided over by the Town Moderator. Once action on any warrant article is voted by the Legislative Committee, it will be final unless a petition containing signatures of 3% of the Town's registered voters is submitted to the Town Clerk within three weeks. If such a petition is submitted, the action of the Legislative Committee will be considered for approval or rejection at an Open Town Meeting.
- 5. A Long Range Planning Committee, consisting of seven members who will be appointed based on demonstrated experience and qualifications related to long range planning and policy development will be established with authority to draft, and keep current, a comprehensive, long-term master plan for the Town. Its purpose will be to coordinate policies in such areas as land use planning, economic development, natural, cultural and historic resources, conservation and open space planning,

housing and commercial development, and the provision of Town services. Its work will serve as a framework within which priorities for the Town are identified, plans for achieving them can be developed and proposals can be analyzed.

- 6. The manner in which members of most Town boards and committees are selected will be changed. Presently, members of the Planning Board, Board of Library Trustees, and Board of Assessors are elected. The Charter provides that individuals serving in these positions, as well as the Town Clerk, will be appointed by the Select Board.
- 7. The missions of both the Capital Outlay Committee and the Standing Building Committee will be formalized and expanded. Going forward, the Standing Building Committee will be obliged to periodically assess all Town facilities and report on their condition. In turn, in addition to consolidating and recommending proposals for capital expenditures from Town departments, the Capital Outlay Committee will receive the facility assessment reports from the Standing Building Committee, prioritize the need for attention to facilities and provide ongoing five-year projections so adequate planning can be undertaken.
- 8. A Finance and Audit Committee will be established to replace the existing Finance Committee (formerly known as the Warrant Committee). It will perform duties similar to the current Finance Committee but will be more limited in scope in that its work will be confined to budget issues and finance oversight. It will also be vested with the responsibility for overseeing the annual audit, shifting this authority from the Select Board. It will consist of seven members appointed by the Legislative Committee, two of whom will be members of the Legislative Committee.
- 9. The existing Priorities Committee, consisting of two members of the Finance and Audit Committee, two members of the Select Board and two members of the School Committee, will be formalized. Its function will be to analyze the annual revenue forecast of the Town, determine the amount necessary for such expenditures which are not assigned to a specific department (such as debt service and insurance), and recommend allocations of net revenue to the Town's various budget sectors.

Total Registered Voters: 12,313

Percent Voting: 28%

Absentee: 104

Total Votes Cast: 3,478