MINUTES JOINT MEETING OF THE SHARON SELECT BOARD AND THE SHARON SCHOOL COMMITTEE

October 21, 2020

The joint meeting of the Sharon Select Board and the Sharon School Committee wascalled to order at 7:05pm remotely via Zoom in accordance with Governor Baker's emergency declaration regarding public gatherings.

Select Board Members Present:

Emily E. Smith-Lee, Chair; William A. Heitin and Hanna R. Switlekowski

School Committee Members Present:

Judy Crosby, Chair; Adam Shain, Julie Rowe, Katie Currul-Dykeman, Veronica Wiseman and Heather Zelevinsky

Deliberation and Vote on Interim School Committee Position through 2021 Annual Town Election

The Sharon School Committee and Select Board previously conducted interviews of seven candidates to fill the vacancy left by Fern Fergus's resignation. Candidates Lauren Dobson, Yossi Farren, Constantin Gorea, Hernán "Chile" Hidalgo, Tanya Lewis, Bradley Maron and Avi Shemtov had the opportunity to introduce themselves and share their responses to questions shared with the candidates ahead of the meeting. Since that meeting, Mr. Shemtov has withdrawn from consideration while stating his support for Ms. Lewis.

Chair Crosby requested that the Select Board begin deliberations. Ms. Switlekowski, Mr. Heitin and Ms. Smith-Lee each stated that all candidates bring impressive qualifications and backgrounds. They remain impressed at the number of qualified, enthusiastic and talented individuals who are willing to serve the community. The Board expressed that although they felt that all candidates would be a benefit to the School Committee, they support Tanya Lewis for the role.

Each member of the School Committee also shared their thoughts on the candidates and the extensive credentials they would bring to the role and the Committee. Support was given to Dr. Maron; Mr. Gorea; Mr. Hildago; and Ms. Lewis.

The floor was opened for comment by attendees wishing to express their support.

MOTION: To appoint Tanya Lewis to the School Committee through the 2021 Annual Town Election.

(Crosby - Heitin) 9-0 **PASSES**

Heitin: AYE Switlekowski: AYE Smith-Lee: AYE

MOTION: To adjourn the Select Board meeting at 7:30 pm

(Heitin - Switlekowski) 3-0 PASSES

Heitin: AYE Switlekowski: AYE Smith-Lee: AYE

List of Documents

- Candidate list
- Current School Committee Membership List